Langenhop Lecture and SIU Mathematics Conference | Department Name | SIU

Southern Illinois University



College of Science

langenhop math conference header

Langenhop Lecture and SIU Mathematics Conference

May 15-16, 2017  

A national research conference in the fields of applied mathematics.

The Department of Mathematics at Southern Illinois University is pleased to announce a research conference in the areas of applied mathematics including partial differential equations, fractional derivatives, mathematical biology, control theory and mathematical physics. This event is combined with the annual Langenhop lecture series to promote the importance of mathematics to a general audience.

Please submit an abstract of your presentation to: math(at)siu(dot)edu by March 31st, 2017.

Accommodations and food are covered for participants.

Registration is required. Please register by March 31st. The link to the registration form is to the left in the box beneath the main navigation menu. 

The Langenhop Lecture is on May 15th at 4pm in the Guyon Auditorium in Morris Library. Anyone is welcome to attend!

Langenhop Lecture: Prof. Suzanne Lenhart, UT at Knoxville

The Langenhop Lecture is intended for a general University audience, highlighting the beauty and impact of Mathematics and/or Statistics on the Arts and Sciences.

Applied Mathematics Conference

Control Theory

Mohamed Ali Belabbas, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Arash Komaee, Southern Illinois University
Nicholas LaRacuente, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jun Liu, Jackson State University
Anirban Nandi, Washington University in St. Louis
Mohammad Sayeh, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Yin Shang, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Fractional Calculus

Ryan Evans, NIST - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Udita Katugampola, University of Delaware

Geometry and Applications

Charles Delman, Eastern Illinois University
Gregory Galperin, Eastern Illinois University
Louis H. Kauffman, University of Illinois at Chicago
Hanna Makaruk, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Robert Owczarek, University of New Mexico
Indu Satija, George Mason University
Mohammad Sayeh, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
M. Weber, Indiana University

Quantum Information

Eric Chitambar, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Gilad Gour, University of Calgary
Charles Ci Wen Lim, Oakridge National Laboratories
Borzumehr Toloui, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Xiaoting Wang, Louisiana State University
Yangwen Zhang, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Mathematical Biology

Craig D. Collins, Murray State University
Christina Edholm, University of Tennessee
Rong Fan, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Matt Geisler, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Suzanne Lenhart, UT Knoxville
Bingtuan Li, University of Louisville
Jiaxu Li, University of Louisville
Maeve Lewis McCarthy,  Murray State University
Maya Mincheva, Northern Illinois University
Tiago Miyaoka, University of Tennessee
David Murrugarra, University of Kentucky
Zoi Rapti, University of Illinois
John Reeve, Southern Illinois University
Libin Rong, Oakland University

Matrix Theory, Computations, and Applications

Minerva Catral, Xavier University
Daeshik Choi, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Sam Cole, University of Illinois Chicago
Philip Feinsilver, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Luyining Elaine Gan, Auburn University
Wei Gao, Auburn University
Mehmet Gumus, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Zhuoheng He, Auburn University
Bhaskara Rao Kopparty, Indiana University Northwest
Jianzhen Jason Liu, Auburn University
Mark Pekkér (Friedman), University of Alabama Huntsville
Tin-Yau Tam, Auburn University
Ken Sze-Wai Wong, University of Chicago
Jianlin Xia, Purdue University
Pingping Zhang, Chongqing University of Posts & Communications


Kelly Buch, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
John McSorley, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Shinhae Park, University of Illinois
G. Stacey Staples, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Lan Wang, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Adam Weyhaupt, Fontbonne University
Menake Wijerathne, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Daochang Zhang, Auburn University

Program Committee:
Om Agrawal, Eric Chitambar, Jerzy Kocik, Henri Schurz, MingQing Xiao, Jianhong Xu, Dashun Xu

Organizing Committee:
Bhaskar Bhattacharya, Wesley Calvert, John McSorley