2018 Langenhop Lecture & SIU Mathematics Conference | Mathematics | SIU

Southern Illinois University



College of Engineering, Computing, Technology, and Mathematics

langenhop math conference header

2018 Langenhop Lecture and SIU Probability and Statistics Conference


Thanks to everyone who attended and presented at the 2018 LLMC Statistics and Probability Conference!


May 14-15, 2018

A national research conference in the fields of statistics and probability.


The Department of Mathematics at Southern Illinois University is pleased to announce a research conference in the areas of statistics and probability. This event is combined with the annual Langenhop lecture series to promote the importance of mathematics to a general audience.

Accommodations and food are covered for participants. 

For accommodations, please contact any of the following:

Hampton Inn, 618-549-6900
Holiday Inn, 618-549-2600
Comfort Inn, 618-529-2720
Best Western, 618-351-6611

Transportation will be provided to and from the hotel to the conference site.

Registration is $30 for those not presenting a paper.  Mail check/money order to the following address -

   SIUC Mathematics
   LLMC 2018
   1245 Lincoln Drive
   Neckers 360 - MC 4408
   Carbondale, IL  62901

Please submit an abstract of your presentation to: dfritcher@siu.edu by March 31st, 2018. 

Download the abstract template here.

The Langenhop Lecture is on May 14th at 4pm in the Guyon Auditorium in Morris Library. Anyone is welcome to attend!


The Langenhop Lecture is intended for a general University audience, highlighting the beauty and impact of Mathematics and/or Statistics on the Arts and Sciences.

Statistics/Probability Conference     Poster   

                                  Presentation    Small Crime Video    Trayvon Video


Peter Baxendale, University of Southern California
Denis Bell, University of North Florida
Wesley Calvert, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Elton Hsu, Northwestern University
Isabelle Kemajou-Brown, Morgan State University
Kay Kirkpatrick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Arash Komae, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Nicholas Laracuente, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
David Nualart, University of Kansas
Flavia Sancier , Antioch College
René Schott, University of Lorraine, Nancy, France
Henri Schurz, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Lochana Siriwardena, University of Indianapolis
Heinrich von Weizsacker, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern


Nazmul Ahsan, St. Louis University
Anil Bera, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sajal Lahiri, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Surekha Rao, Indiana University Northwest


John Reeve, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Lihui Zhao, Northwestern University

Data Science

Mary Frances Dorn, Los Alamos National Laboratory


Ali Arab, Georgetown University
Sanjib Basu, University of Illinois at Chicago
Emily Berg, Iowa State University
Lynne Billard, University of Georgia
Sounak Chakraborty, University of Missouri-Columbia
Xinyu Chen, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Priyan DeAlwis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Ashkan Ertefaie, University of Rochester
Mohammad Kazem Shirani Faradonbeh, University of Florida
Joyee Ghosh, University of Iowa
Todd Headrick, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Haileab Hilafu, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Naama Lewis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Mehdi Maadooliat, Marquette University
Mohammad Reza Meshkani, Shahid Beheshti University
Nitis Mukhopadhyay, University of Connecticut
Balgobin Nandram, Worcester Polytechnique Institute
Vahid Partivi Nia, Polytechnique Montréal & GERAD
Chathurangi Pathiravasan, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Buddika Peiris, Worcester Polytechnique Institute
Lasanthi Pelawa Watagoda, Appalachian Sate University
Hasthika Rupasinghe, Appalachian State University
Hossein Moradi Rekabdarkolaee, Virginia Commonwealth University
Hadi Safari, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Khalil Shafie, University of Northern Colorado
Ekaterina Smirnova, University of Montana
Mehdi Soleymani, University of Auckland, New Zealand
T.N. Sriram, University of Georgia
Christopher K. Wikle, University of Missouri
Ping Ye, University of North Georgia
Huijun Yi, Troy State University
Yuan Yu, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Samira Zaroudi, Azad University

Program Committee:
Bhaskar Bhattacharya, Randy Hughes, Jerzy Kocik, David Olive, Yaser Samadi, Henri Schurz

Organizing Committee:
Bhaskar Bhattacharya, Wesley Calvert, Yaser Samadi