2024 Langenhop Lecture & Mathematics Conference| Mathematics | SIU

Southern Illinois University



College of Engineering, Computing, Technology, and Mathematics

2024 Langenhop Lecture & SIU Conference

May 16-17, 2024


The School of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences at Southern Illinois University Carbondale is pleased to announce a research conference in the area of Pure Mathematics. This event is combined with the annual Langenhop lecture series to promote the importance of mathematics to a general audience. The conference will begin at 9:00 am on Thursday May 16th and end in the evening of Friday May 17th. The Langenhop Lecturer this year will be Ken Ono, University of Virginia. Website

Registration is now open. Please register early. 

Graduate Students are invited to attend and are welcome to submit talks. We have funds to cover their lodging expenses, meals, and up to $500 in travel expenses, regardless of whether they are giving a talk or just attending. To apply for support, graduate students should fill out the registration form and select that option.

Notice: Travel support funds are no longer available. The maximum funds available have been allocated. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Lodging will be provided for all invited participants and graduate students.

Meals will be provided for all registered participants.

Abstracts: Download the abstract template here.

Schedule: Main Schedule


                                        LANGENHOP LECTURER: Ken Ono, University of Virginia

                                                            Website             Poster



Plenary Speakers

Stephen DeBacher, University of Michigan
Louis Kauffman, University of Illinois Chicago
Freydoon Shahidi, Purdue University
Robin Wilson, Loyola Marymount University

Steinberg Module of the Braid Group

Nathan Broaddus, Ohio State University
Emille Lawrence, University of San Francisco
Anisah Nu’Man, Spelman College
Robin Wilson, Loyola Marymount University

Representation Theory and Automorphic Forms

Maryam Alzahrani, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Devjani Basu, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Hargun Preet Bhatia, University of California San Diego
Stephen DeBacher, University of Michigan
Alexander Hazeltine, University of Michigan
Joseph Hundley, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Junoh Kim, Indiana University Bloomington
Aranya Lahiri, UCSD
Yanzhan Liao, SUNY at Buffalo
Baiying Liu, Purdue University
Chi-Heng Lo, Purdue University
Ning Ma, SUNY at Buffalo
Ayan Maiti, Purdue University
Anshada Pattambi Muhammedali, Oklahoma State University
Bharatha Rankothge, University of California San Diego
Avinash Roy, Michigan State University
Freydoon Shahidi, Purdue University
Claus Sorensen, UC San Diego
Matthias Strauch, Indiana University
Manisha Varahagiri, University of Texas at Arlington
Zichuan Wang, Indiana University Bloomington
Baoming Zhang, University at Buffalo
Zehong Zhao, University of California San Diego

Integral Quadratic Forms

Eran Assaf, Dartmouth College
Archisman Bhattacharjee, Louisiana State University
Wai Kiu Chan, Wesleyan University
Pete Clark, University of Georgia
Maxwell Forst, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Lenny Fukshansky, Claremont McKenna College
Larry Gerstein, University of California, Santa Barbara
Sehun Jeong, Claremont Graduate University
Koustav Mondal, Louisiana State University
Ester Sgallova, Michigan State University
Felipe Valdes Gonzalez, Wesleyan University
Haochen Wu, Darthmouth College

Partial Differential Equations

Mona Almutairi, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Haseeb Ansari, University of Houston
Sajjadul Bari, University of Houston
Burton Brown IV, Howard University
Colin Fried, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Ali Maalaoui, Clark University
Bret McCarty, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Carlo Morpurgo, University of Missouri
Khalid Alzahrani, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Munirah Alzahrani, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Cheikh Ndiaye, Howard University
Henri Schurz, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
John Villavert, University of Texas, RGV
Lei Zhang, University of Florida

Geometry Broadly Understood

Louis Kauffman, University of Illinois Chicago
Phillip Feinsilver, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Hanna Makaruk, Los Alamos National Laboratory
John McSorley, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Robert Owczarek, University of New Mexico
Bogdan Petrenko, Eastern Illinois University
G. Stacey Staples, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Ronald White, Southern Illinois University Carbondale



National Science Foundation
School of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences (Langenhop Fund)
College of Engineering, Computing, Technology & Math

Organizing Committee:

Dubravka Ban
Wesley Calvert
Andrew Earnest
Mathew Gluck
Jurek Kocik
Lindsey-Kay Lauderdale
Gabriel Ngwe